NEWS: 2011 Mercury Music Prize Shortlist Announced

PJ Harvey - Let England Shake

The 12 albums from UK and Ireland artists that the judges have seen fit to nominate for the Mercury Music Prize 2011 have been announced this morning at London’s Hospital Club.

As ever there were some shocking omissions from the shortlist – notably Wild Beasts, The Horrors and SBTRKT. Also, as ever, there was a mix of established and new artists.

The albums of the year according to those judges (click on links to read our reviews, where available) are:

  1. Metronomy – The English Riviera
  2. Adele – 21
  3. PJ Harvey – Let England Shake
  4. Gwilym Simcock – Good Days At Schloss Elmau
  5. Tinie Tempah – Disc-Overy
  6. James Blake – James Blake
  7. Elbow – Build A Rocket, Boys
  8. Everything Everything – Man Alive
  9. Katy B – On A Mission
  10. Ghostpoet – Peanut Butter Blues & Melancholy Jam
  11. King Creosote & Jon Hopkins – Diamond Mine
  12. Anna Calvi – Anna Calvi

More soon…

No related posts found...