NEWS: Gorillaz drop Plastic Beach in March

Gorillaz - Plastic Beach The third Gorillaz album, one of the biggest comebacks of 2010 and the follow-up to Demon Days, drops on 8 March.

Amongst Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett’s star-studded and much-rumoured guests this time are Mark E Smith, Lou Reed, Snoop Dogg, Bobby Womack, De La Soul, Gruff Rhys, Mos Def, The Clash’s Paul Simonon, The National Orchestra For Arabic Music, Hypnotic Brass Ensemble, Sinfonia ViVA, Bashy, Little Dragon and Kano.

That, by any standard, is quite a line-up, wouldn’t you say?  They join a Gorillaz extended family which, over the last two albums, has already included everyone from Ibrahim Ferrer to Shaun Ryder.  

Not only that but the world’s biggest ever cartoon band is all set to headline Coachella in, oh… 86 days from now.  You lucky Statesiders, you.

Plastic Beach’s tracklisting is *drumroll*: 

1. Orchestral Intro (featuring Sinfonia ViVA)
2. Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach (feat. Snoop Dogg and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
3. White Flag (feat. Kano, Bashy and The National Orchestra For Arabic Music)
4. Rhinestone Eyes
5. Stylo (feat. Bobby Womack and Mos Def)
6. Superfast Jellyfish (feat. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)
7. Empire Ants (feat. Little Dragon)
8. Glitter Freeze (feat. Mark E Smith)
9. Some Kind Of Nature (feat. Lou Reed)
10. On Melancholy Hill
11. Broken
12. Sweepstakes (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. Plastic Beach (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
14. To Binge (feat. Little Dragon)
15. Cloud Of Unknowing (feat. Bobby Womack and Sinfonia ViVA)
16. Pirate Jet

Lead single Stylo (featuring Mos Def and Bobby Womack) is available for download from January 26th. It’s a bit good; we know this because it “leaked”.

Excited much?


buy Gorillaz MP3s or CDs
Spotify Gorillaz on Spotify

More on Gorillaz
Festival Review: We Love Green 2022
Reissues Round-up: Gorillaz, Fela Kuti, The Communards, Can
Gorillaz – Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez
Gorillaz – The Now Now
Gorillaz – Humanz