Track Of The Day

Vampire Weekend – Diane Young/Step

Vampire Weekend have premiered two new songs from their forthcoming third album Modern Vampires Of The City.

Diane Young and Step form a double A-side single that highlights two very different sides to the New York group (videos below).

Diane Young is the more upbeat side of the single and it’s a frenzied burst of energy, which sees singer Ezra Koenig affecting some rather impressive Elvis style vocal mannerisms. The single is accompanied by a video of a slowly burning car in front of a grey New York skyline

Step is the rather more reflective counterpoint featuring a really quite lovely waltzing orchestral melody accompanied by softly delivered plaintive lyrics. Again, this track features a lyric video set to images of their home city.

The band have just returned from performing at Austin’s SXSW festival, which saw them play a number of new songs for the first time.

So far, the band have only announced one UK date at the Troxy in London on 8 May. Modern Vampires Of The City will be released through XL Recordings on 6 May. The track listing for the album can be read below:

1 Obvious Bicycle
2 Unbelievers
3 Step
4 Diane Young
5 Don’t Lie
6 Hannah Hunt
7 Everlasting Arms
8 Finger Back
9 Worship You
10 Ya Hey
11 Hudson
12 Young Lion

No related posts found...